Forums and Chat for Indonesia's English-speaking community
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#59002 - 17 Aug 07 11:08 Grameen Bank in Indonesia?
Your Shrink Offline

Loc: Lunatic Asylum
In the shout box a few days a go I was discussing Grameen Bank with Riccardo and later I found out Riccardo still misunderstood my point by saying that I was new and optimistic to Grameen, that he took my suggestion on learning about the SARA in Indonesia as a joke.

I know little about Grameen Bank so Ric is correct. It is true that I am new to the Grameen concept and I don't have any intention to talk about implementation of Grameen Bank systems in Indonesia, it's really out of my field of expertise. That means I am not either optimistic or pessimitic about it.

Things make me uneasy is Ric's statement that Grameen cannot be implemented in Indonesia. His reason based on the case in Ambon, when Maranatha (supported by an Australian NGO) implemented Grameen banking systems there. It was working but Laskar Jihad or whatever the name of the organisation, burned the office's and this deemed the experiment a failure.

I am sorry to say, that this is a reckless conclusion.

What I really disagree about is that Indonesia is a very diverse nation with diverse cultures as well. Ambon, Sumatera, Java, Papua, Bali etc etc, all are very very different. If you cannot implement something in Java this doesn't mean that you can't implement it in other places in Indonesia. To state that a system cannot be implemented at all would only be true if
you have proven experiences of failure in other places which would represent Indonesia as a whole archipelago.