Forums and Chat for Indonesia's English-speaking community
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#57701 - 01 Aug 07 01:35 Jakarta
Bas1977 Offline

Loc: Netherlands,rotterdam
Hey all,

Im Bas...
Im gonna be in jakarta in november for a couple a days....
Its my first time in jakarta..where do you have to have seen when u are in jakarta....
im traveling alone and im single..which restaurant/clubs ore bars do you recommend for the evening/night time....
And which hotel is nice for a nice price...
Thanks in advance Bas

#57704 - 01 Aug 07 08:26 Re: Jakarta [Re: Bas1977]
chewwyUK Offline
Pujangga

Loc: Jakarta
Welcome Bass .....

Depends what you want to do while in Jakarta. It is not what I would call a tourist city with lots to do but there are one or two points of interest. As you seem to be mentioning clubs I will start there:

Blok M: A number of bars on a small street. Known as being packed full of young girls looking to make a little money. In truth about 60% of the bars are like this and the other 40% you can have a few beers without any being approached every two minutes.

Good Bars: There is a Dutch guy in Jakarta who knows what you want in a good drinking establishment. Cold beer, friendly service and a few bar games. His bars are Bugils, Cazbar, Eastern Promise and DeHooi

Hotel Bars: Hotel bars will be expensive .. expensive drinks=expesnive women. BATS, CJ's etc all the same. Terrible bands playing cover song after cover song. Unless you are in the mood for expensive very willing women these are probably best avoided.

Night Clubs: Down to personal choice but for me you cant go wrong with Red Square. Others may prefer Public or Dragon Fly which are also good fun. Doesn't matter where you start off you will always en your night at Stadium. Good variety of Dance, live music and "special rooms"

Jalan Jaksa: Good place to go to get very wasted for not very much money

#57727 - 01 Aug 07 12:54 Re: Jakarta [Re: chewwyUK]
riccardo Offline
Pujangga