Govt. determines 11 telecommunication development blocks

JAKARTA (Antara): The Indonesian government has determined 11 universal service obligation (USO) telecommunication block areas in the country to continue its telecommunication infrastructurenetwork development scheme covering 18,000 villages in 2007, a telecommunication official said.

"The area division is aimed at facilitating telecommunication operators to develop services and help the Communication and Information Ministry to monitor its network development programs," Post and Telecommunication Directorate General spokesperson Gatot S Dewa Broto said Tuesday.

Block 1 comprises Aceh, North Sumatra and West Sumatra provinces;; block 2 Jambi, Riau, Riau Islands and Bangka Belitung provinces; block 3 South Sumatra, Bengkulu and Lampung provinces; and block 4 Central Kalimantan and West Kalimantan.

Block 5 consists of East Kalimantan and South Kalimantan;

Block 6 North Sulawesi, Gorontalo and Central Sulawesi;

Block 7 South Sulawesi, West Sulawesi, and Southeast Sulawesi;

Block 8 Papua and West Papua.

Block 9 covers Maluku and North Maluku;

Block 10 West Nusatenggara, East Nusatenggara and Bali;

Block 11 all of Java island.

Gatot said USO is an obligation Indonesian telecommunication operators must implement in a bid to fulfill their commitments to develop and distribute information in remote and border areas.

"Today about 43,000 villages in Indonesia have yet to enjoy information services. Hopefully, these villages will have integrated telecommunication services in 2011," he said. (***)
_________________________ Indonesian Business and Investment News Aggregator